Movie Thoughts: Trance

TRANCE1

So last night I saw Trance with a friend who had a couple pre-screening passes. Trance stars James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson and Vincent Cassel. I have a huge soft spot for Mr. McAvoy, so from the time I saw the original trailer, I knew I had to see it. One of my favourite films that he stars in (and I know not everyone loves) is Wanted, with Angelina Jolie and Morgan Freeman. I had a suspiscion going into this film that it would have a similar feeling to that movie, and I think I was pretty on track with that.

The gist of the movie is that there’s a stolen painting, that gets stolen from the thieves, aka Cassel and company, and now the thieves aren’t too happy about it. McAvoy’s character, Simon is the only person who knows where it really is. Problem is he has amnesia and needs Dawson’s hypnosis help to uncover it. If that didn’t sum it up enough without spoilers, check out the trailer.

trance-movie-james-mcavoy

The movie was pretty intense overall and very action packed- and by action packed I mean lots of running, yelling and gun fights, (there’s no real hand to had combat in this one). The movie takes a few, actually quite a few turns and after I walked out I remember saying “What a twist!” but only because it felt like there were so many. If you see this film pay attention! I think that this would be a great movie to see the second time around too, because when you actually know the ending you can re-watch and say “Ah, okay, I see it now”. There were a few moments of shock value, including some gore and nudity and just the right amount of comedy thrown in too.

I liked it a lot. Not sure about my friend. Clearly it’s not going to be for everyone, but if you’re going to the movies this weekend or next anyways, I’d recommend it.

PS. I also heard that Michael Fassbender was originally supposed to play Cassel’s character, Franck. I wish this actually happened because A. It’s Michael Fassbender, B. I think he would have done this roll SO well (dare I say better) and C. Come on, it’s Michael Fassbender.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Movie Thoughts: Trance

Leave a Reply

