Vine vs Instagram: Video On Instagram

instavine

Our favourite photo-sharing app is making moves. Today Facebook and Instagram launched video on Instagram. Will this be the demise of Vine? Could this be the end of Vine’s short-lived life? I guess we’ll have to see.

I just finished posting my first Instagram video (which I suspect will have the hashtag #InstaVid or #InstaVideo attached from now on). Overall thoughts? AWESOME. In comparison to Vine, I think it definitely includes things we all wanted. I really love the focus ability on Instagram when filming. With Vine I often had a lot of difficulty focusing in the app with my iPhone. And I doubt it was just me, because I saw quite a few blurry videos out there. Another cool plus, is of course the filters. Who doesn’t love filters?! Even the #NoFilter people probably use filters about 45% of the time. Videos can be viewed on desktop and online, and unlike Vine, you can choose your own start still screen. COOL!

instagram

A few things I’m not so crazy about: The length for these videos is 15 seconds. I like Vine being 6 seconds, and I think for Vine users, it’s going to be a weird adjustment to fill up all that time. You don’t HAVE to fill up the full time which is good, but the initial feeling is “I have so much space left. What do I do with it?!” Others will love this time. For marketers, this is a 15 second spot- just promise not to treat it like one. Another thing, which I’m sure can always be added in later is the lack of frames. I think framing in the filter part of the app would be a great addition, and could create even more dynamic videos.

As I said, overall I love it and I can’t wait to see what’s next (and how Vine will keep up).

Images from thenextweb & gizmodo.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Vine vs Instagram: Video On Instagram

  1. I think Vine will win as it has cornered a niche. Yes Instagram will compete, but ultimately Instagram will continue to do what it does best capturing that one image/memory in a ‘once in a moment’ snap.

    • Thanks for your comment and I completely agree!

      I think that “snap” is one of Instagrams biggest assets and what makes it so fast and easy. This is why people love it. Vine is another easy share, but with video. Video on Instagram MIGHT be a little too much effort, and ward people off because of the feature. Guess we’ll have to wait and see!

Leave a Reply

